Skip to content

March Showers?

March 30, 2010

The last few days have been so rainy, I hope we are getting April showers out of the way and warm weather will stick around. Most people complain about the hot & humid DC summers, but I love ‘em.

Last night didn’t go exactly as planned. Neil and I own a three-level rowhouse in Columbia Heights. We live on the top two floors and rent out the basement apartment. It has a completely separate front and back entrance, its own kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. The rent also covers over a third of our mortgage.

So last night our tenant emails us that he wants to get out of his lease early because he got a job offer in Chicago. He has been a great tenant so we are putting the apartment “on the market” this weekend. It can be a lot of work getting a new tenant in so this week and weekend will be much busier than anticipated.

After cooking/eating dinner, I made kugel for the sedar tonight. It ended up being a late night and I didn’t get a chance to lift weights. Hopefully I will squeeze that in today. My training plan calls for a swim today but since I have to be in Bethesda around 7 pm that will probably get pushed back till tomorrow. I did bring my swim stuff though, just in case.

This morning I was all dressed in my work clothes, when I looked outside and saw it wasn’t raining yet. I quickly changed and headed out on my bike. I didn’t put on my heart rate monitor but I did manage to get my Garmin. My ride to work looks like this:

Time: 12:01 minutes
Distance: 2.73 miles (a little shorter than I thought)
Average speed: 13.6
Calories: 230 (I’m even more skeptical of this # without the heart rate monitor)

You can see why I prefer this to taking the bus. It’s so fast and on the way to work it’s mostly downhill.

Today’s eats/points are:

  • Spinach/red onion/muenster cheese/egg white omelet (I realized yesterday I had NO dairy.  For someone recovering from a stress fracture you would think I would make calcium more of a priority…so trying to do that from here on out)  – 3 points
  • Cut-up apple – 1 point
  • Cut-up carrots – 0 points
  • Leftover chickpea + quinoa salad - 7 points
  • Small banana – 1.5 points

Total points for the day = 12.5

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 10:40 am

    I love DC summers, too. Call me crazy, but 80+ degree temperatures are fabulous, especially after the winter we just had!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

