Skip to content

How I Became a Runner

February 25, 2010

It’s hard to believe that I’m coming up on a 20 mile run this weekend when a few years ago I couldn’t even run a mile.  Since this blog will be about running (among other things), I figure I should tell the story of how I got to this place.

In college, even if my weight fluctuated, I was a regular exerciser.  I loved the endorphins and sweating out my stress.  My lifestyle was pretty solid evidence that to reach a healthy weight you need a healthy diet in addition to exercise.

When I started Weight Watchers after school I didn’t want to put too much pressure on myself to overhaul my eating habits and consistently exercise.  So I lost the weight primarily watching what I ate.  Once I reached lifetime though, I had no muscle tone.  I also was yearning to be active again.

DC is an expensive city, and my job at the time was not paying much.  I soon realized that running could be a much cheaper alternative to joining a pricey gym in my neighborhood.  I began running slowly, 3 miles at a time, and built up from there.  Within a year, I was training for my first half marathon.

Unfortunately, this past spring I injured my hip and had to take about six months off from running.  Being forced not to run made me realize for the first time how much I truly love it.  While injured, I began dreaming of running a marathon, something I had previously thought was insane.  As soon as my hip started feeling better, I brought myself up to 20 miles a week and then registered for the National Marathon.

Training has been great.  Even though it has been an extremely long and cold winter for DC, I’ve been forced to run outdoors and keep up my exercise program.  Usually I tend to hibernate in the winter, but this year I’ve been out at least 4 days a week!

Whenever I tell people I am training for a marathon, most people are shocked and say they could never do it.  But if anything, I’m evidence that ANYONE who wants to run a marathon can do it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 6:14 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. April 1, 2010 1:03 pm

    Have you tried swimming as an alternative to running while you heal? I can’t “spread the word” about swimming enough! 🙂

Leave a Reply

