Skip to content

Injuries

March 3, 2010

In my last few posts, I mentioned that I have made it through training mostly injury free. That is not entirely true and it seems like I may have jinxed myself. I’ll start us off with my injury history.

Shortly after my first half marathon in 2008, I did a lot of traveling in a short period of time. More specifically I was on long flights (DC-Portland, OR; DC-London). For some reason, after sitting down for prolonged periods of time would cause my knee to have some sharp pain. So I took a few weeks off in April/May from running and was good as new.

Fast forward to Spring 2009. I had just finished the Cherry Blossom 10-miler and was really “feeling” running again. I hadn’t stopped running completely that winter, but definitely was getting a little burnt out. One day after an easy 4 mile run on the treadmill, I noticed my hip was hurting. It got progressively worse, so that I couldn’t even run a mile without it hurting for the rest of the day. After some research it seemed like it was probably liotibial Band Syndrome. While I did some light running, I really ended up taking a few months off from serious running. That’s why I was so amped to start training for the marathon in November. I had been hip-pain free for about 2 months and was ready to get my endurance back.

During the marathon training I have been lucky. After my 18-miler through the ice my Achilles tendon was feeling tender, so I took a few days off and it healed within a week. After the 20-miler this weekend, I thought I just had general aches and pains from running such a long distance. Yesterday called for a 5 mile run, so I decided to run home from work during lunch, walk the dog, and then run back. The total running is about 5.2 miles, no big deal.

My lower leg, the interior side a few inches above the ankle, would hurt when I started running but the pain would go away once I was in a rhythm. I figured my leg was just loosening up. However, when I took my dog on a short run this morning (and since I was with her, I had to stop and start a lot) it was clear that this is not just regular “I ran 20 miles on Sunday” pains. It hurt a lot and I went straight to the computer when I got home.

From my quick online research, it looks like it could be posterior shin splints or a stress fracture. Obviously I am praying for it to be the former. I’ve decided to take the next couple days off of running. If it still hurts next Monday I will make an appointment with a doctor immediately.

This morning I was almost in tears, imagining that my months of hard work have gone down the drain. But then I took a few deep breaths. I had been assuming the worst and there is no reason to freak out until I get some answers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

