Skip to content

Let the carb-loading begin

March 15, 2010

As I mentioned earlier, last night I went to the grocery and stocked up on healthy carbs. The plan this week is to carb-load and ice my leg as much as possible. My husband is actually taking over the morning dog walk (which is usually my “job”) so I can really rest up. I feel very lucky to have Neil’s support now that it’s getting down to the wire.

My grocery cart was filled with Thomas bagel thins, fresh bakery bread, polenta, fruits and veggies. I already had whole wheat couscous and pasta and brown rice at home to round out the meals.

This morning I had spinach and two egg whites on a Thomas Everything bagel thin. The bagel was good, but as my husband pointed out it tasted more like toast than a bagel.

Snacks throughout the day are greek yogurt, a banana and a cut-up apple.

Lunch is a tempeh sandwich (tempeh, laughing cow cheese, sprouts and spinach) and a repeat of Friday’s salad (spinach, sprouts, beets and Amy’s dressing).

The plan for today’s workout is the stationary bike again and lifting. I am really sick of the stationary bike, but it’s the only cardio that won’t agitate my leg (I don’t have access to a pool). I really really miss running right now. Also I miss on-the-road bike riding.

For about 8 months of the year, I ride my bike to work. I haven’t ridden it since December because of the harsh winter we have been having. Last week it started to finally warm up, but I had left my bike in the garage at our office these last few months and it’s completely out of air. I need to bring it home to pump up the tires. However, you can only bring a bike on the metro during certain hours (you can put it on a bus but I’m not sure how to do it and I’m a little too scared to try!). My plan is to work late-ish tonight and bring it home this evening.

I can’t wait to start biking to work again. It’s easier than taking public transportation and gives me a little extra cardio everyday.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

