Skip to content

Weekend Recap

March 15, 2010

New York was fun, but I was very happy to get home to my husband, pup and my own bed last night.

The weather was terrible all weekend. I feel so bad for the bride because her bridal shower was during an east coast blizzard and most people couldn’t come. Then this weekend was monsoon rain and wind in NYC! We told her that now her wedding (which will be in July) has to be perfect weather. I mean third times a charm, right?

The musical on Friday was so fun and funny! I highly recommend seeing it if you ever have a girl’s night out in the city. We went out to dinner beforehand and drank a bit, but I didn’t have any more drinks after that. After the show we went to a club/bar in our hotel. I danced some but made sure to take a lot of sitting breaks to rest my leg.

Saturday during the day we braved the rain and headed to Westchester to try on the bridesmaid dresses. Unfortunately I had gotten measured at some tailor around here, and my dress was two sizes too big. At least they looked cute on the other girls! After that we had lunch with the bride’s mom and headed back to the city. We got ready and then played drinking games at a bridesmaid’s apartment.

We had to take cabs to the restaurant, and let me tell you, I was DRENCHED by the time we got there. Dinner was delicious – I ordered salad and plenty of wine. But again I stopped drinking at dinner because I know that getting too dehydrated would just make my leg worse.

Afterwards we headed to a club. Like I mentioned I’m not a club girl, but I had a fun time dancing and headed back to the hotel around 1:30. The bride and my friend (who I was sharing the room with) didn’t get home until 5 am. They are hardcore. Three nights of drinking is not typical for me anymore, so I was ready to get home and relax.

The bus ride yesterday went smoothly and took only four hours. Plus I got to ride with my co-worker and we played with phone apps for the entire time. When we got to DC we went to a Japanese market and Harris Teeter and stocked up big time. I got all the good carbs I could think of because this week is carb-loading time!

The rest of the night was spent hanging out with my husband and the dog on the couch. Perfection.

I’ll post later about my eats and workout for today. Here are the few food/drink highlights I snapped shots of in the city:

Delicious deli sandwich for lunch on Friday. Grilled veggies with mozzarella and pesto on whole wheat ciabatta.

Drinks for pre-gaming

Dessert at Nook Friday night…and it was free 🙂

Can I pretend I was carb-loading already Saturday night?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

