Skip to content

Looking to the Future

March 19, 2010

More races

Since I can’t run for 2 months I’m already mapping out a new training plan. I really loved training for the marathon. Every week that I got stronger, I felt more accomplished and closer to my goal. Although I didn’t quite make the goal, I’m trying to focus on the positive and be proud of my progress.

I’ve decided to sign up for the sprint triathlon June 27th. Since I can’t begin running until mid-May, I will be focusing on biking and swimming for the next two months.

I’m not too worried about the bike portion – next week I will start biking to work every day. Plus I usually bike home during lunch to let the dog out, which brings my total mileage to over 11 miles a day. I plan on incorporating additional training rides of course, but I should have a good endurance base after a few weeks of that.

Swimming will be more of a challenge. The summer before my senior year of college I studied abroad in London. At this time I was a smoker, not a heavy smoker but certainly enough that my lungs were affected and I found it difficult to do traditional cardio. I joined a gym with a pool and swam almost daily. Other than that I do not have much experience swimming. I plan on joining a gym (hopefully this weekend) and focus on that. I’m not sure how I will get open water practice…anyone have ideas for that?

I also would like to bring back regular strength training into my routine. I used to lift at least two days a week without fail, usually during my lunch break. But since we adopted Leela I find it harder to fit in.

This weekend I am going to make an official training schedule. The other challenge is that I will be in Spain April 22-May 7 for my honeymoon (!!) so obviously I will do little to no training there. A side note: I will bring workout DVDs since I can’t run while I’m there, and we probably will rent bikes a few times.

In terms of running, I’m hoping to register for the Marine Corps Marathon. I’ve always planned on doing this race, so unless I don’t get in I should get to (finally) run my first marathon in the fall. Following Hal Higdon’s training plan I will actually start right after the sprint triathlon, but I will definitely take the first week easy if I need to recover!

Friday!

This is a long entry! For breakfast at my parents’ house I had oatmeal with a tablespoon of almond butter:

After the doctor’s appointment I drove straight to work. While I’m trying to be positive, I did shed some tears on the drive. When I got to work I went to the race expo with some co-workers who are doing the half. Sorry for the picture quality, taken on my phone:

For lunch I had a huge salad from Lawsons with spinach, mixed greens, beets, tomatoes, squash, sprouts, artichokes, other veggies and hummus:

Plus a granola bar I got from the expo:

Tonight I plan going to the gym and finally get some strength training in. Also after work I’m going to happy hour with some friends. Again I have to focus on the positives of not being able to run….and one of them is alcohol!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 6:57 pm

    A lot of the area high school let you use their pools for a small fee. I’m not sure where you are in DC, but Washington & Lee in Arlington is pretty cheap. I have a membership with Fairfax Parks & Rec which is convenient, too.

    I’m so sorry to hear about the marathon. Good luck on the tri, though! I’m hoping to do one this summer, too! I think I’m going to sign up for the Marine Corps Marathon, as well. I’ve heard it’s an amazing race to run!

    • March 19, 2010 7:01 pm

      That’s a really great idea. I live in Columbia Heights but I think one of the high schools near me has a pool.

      Do you have a tri in mind?

  2. March 19, 2010 9:16 pm

    Swimming is a must!

Leave a Reply

