Skip to content

Swimming Success

March 21, 2010

My first day at the pool was a success. The good news is that I probably won’t need to join a gym. This is especially good news because I will be spending money for the triathlon in the upcoming weeks, including:

-$110 registration fee
-bike shoes (the clip kind)
-a real one piece swim suit
-swim accessories: goggles, swim cap, etc

This morning I fueled with a bowl of cereal – .75 cup Puffins + .5 cup of blueberries + .5 cup unsweetened vanilla almond breeze. Cereal is something I always measure because serving sizes can be deceiving:

I also set up the crock pot for Moroccan Stew before I left:

The pool was new and clean. All I needed was to show my DC license and the facilities were free to use. They even have a bunch of classes for residents. The pool itself was huge and each lane was designated slow, medium or fast. I started out at the slow, moved to the medium and when the medium got too crowded moved back to the slow. I lost count but I either swam 10 or 12 lengths in just over 20 minutes. Ten lengths is about .3 miles though, half of the sprint tri distance, so I’m satisfied with that!

Next time I will bring a lock and a hairbrush. Can’t believe I forgot a brush. I will also go longer, but without goggles my eyes weren’t happy with me. I switched between the crawl and breast stroke. I find breast stroke much easier on the eyes. When I left they were bloodshot.

The pool is conveniently located next to a Whole Foods, so I did the weekly grocery trip while I was up there. In the future I may bike to the pool because Neil and I share a car and he has basketball on Sundays. It’s only 4 miles from my house but practically all uphill getting there, so we will see about that.

The best part is that since this swim trip was successful, I registered for the Celebration Sprint Triathlon! No turning back now. Hopefully the pool that is closer to my house (that I plan to go to on weekday workouts) isn’t too bad.

When I got home I quickly made a green monster with spinach, strawberries, a few blueberries, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and some agave nectar. As soon as I finished I immediately got to cleaning. While Neil was at basketball I cleaned practically the entire house. We had an early dinner of the Moroccan stew, so now it’s time to relax a little. The only other plans for the night are some free weights while I watch my shows.

Leave a Reply

