Skip to content

Dress Shopping

March 28, 2010

Last night for dinner we went to a restaurant in our ‘hood called The Heights. We’ve been for brunch plenty of times, but wanted to try out the dinner menu. I couldn’t help myself from ordering a Bloody Mary, even though that’s typical brunch time fare. They have a whole menu page devoted to customized Bloody Mary’s! Love it.

I had the Portobello & Eggplant sandwich with fries. As you can see I was starving by the time we got there and had started eating before I remembered to take a picture.

It was good, but I think I like their brunch better. Then we headed to VA to play beirut (beer pong). We rarely venture to the ‘burbs because it takes a while, but it was fun to hang out with friends and play games. I stopped myself at 3 beers. We got home after 1 am and passed out.

I slept in till 9:45 this morning, which is super late for me. I’m a very light sleeper. I made myself the typical breakfast fare: english muffin and spinach/red onion/provolone/egg white omelet.

I’ll definitely do a post on omelet-making one day. I’ve become quite the pro.

I had to rush to get ready and head out the door because I was meeting my mom in Friendship Heights to go dress shopping! As I mentioned before, my husband and I eloped in January, but we are still having a party in June. I wasn’t planning on buying a white dress because the party really won’t have a wedding-feel, but I found the cutest white BCBG cocktail dress at Bloomingdales. They didn’t have many sizes so I tried on a bigger size and then ordered two sizes to try online. I’m so excited! I’ll have to put up some pics when it gets delivered.

Afterwards I metro-ed to the pool and swam 18 lengths/900 meters/.56 miles in 30 minutes. I’m getting close to hitting the sprint triathlon distance. Of course, this is with some breaks between laps. I’ve also been mainly working on form and getting my endurance up, so soon I will begin working on speed. And I want to be able to go the whole .62 miles in the pool without stopping, since I won’t be able to stop in the lake on race day! I’m glad I have so long to prepare.

I managed a mini-trip to Whole Foods before the bus from the pool came. By the time I got home it was after 3:30 and I was starving. I had a banana (unpictured). I wanted to keep it light to save room for dinner, so I had a runny egg on spinach…

And some almond butter on toast (plus some unpictured pretzels and carrots + hummus).

The rest of the day/night was boring, but that’s the way Sundays should be! I went to the dog park, cleaned up and did some laundry. Dinner tonight was an attempt to re-create my dinner from the Heights…sauteed kale and a portobello sandwich with sprouts and a slice of provolone. I marinated the mushroom in soy vay, grilled it in a fry pan, then grilled the whole sandwich. Not bad if I do say so myself.

This post is kind of boring, but I do have some more interesting topics to post about this week. I’ve been thinking a lot about weight and food issues and I plan to get it out on this blog.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

