Skip to content

Menu Planning

March 29, 2010

Workout and Eats

After the conference call this morning I headed down to the office gym and did a quick 30 minutes on the stationary bike. The stationary bike is probably my least favorite machine, but with the stress fracture it’s my only option. I can’t complain though – I read my book and worked up a good sweat.  I plan on lifting during TV time tonight.

Does anyone else watch Nurse Jackie or United States of Tara?

Today’s planned eats and points values (everything but dinner):

Monday, March 29, 2010

Morning
3  item(s) egg white(s) 1
1/2 cup(s) red onion(s) 0
1  cup(s) spinach 0
1  item(s) Light Multi-Grain English Muffin 1
1  small apple(s) 1
Subtotal 3
Midday
1/2 cup(s) summer squash 0
1  cup(s) spinach 0
1  large portobello mushroom(s) 0
soy vey – Quick-added food 1
2  slice(s) All natural 12 grain specialty bread 3
1/2 cup(s) zucchini 0
annie’s dressing – Quick-added food 1
1  large orange(s) 1
1  package(s) 100-Calorie Packs Whole Almonds 2
Subtotal 8
Evening
No entries for this meal time.
Subtotal 0
Anytime
No entries for this meal time.
Subtotal 0
Food POINTS values total used 11
Food POINTS values remaining 10
Activity
30 min stationary bike, moderate 1
Activity POINTS values earned 1
Check off these important items daily:
Liquids
Milk & Milk Products
Fruit & Vegetables
Multivitamin/Mineral
Healthy Oil
Activity
Lean Protein
Whole Grains

To break it down:

Breakfast: spinach, red onion, egg white omelet + english muffin
Snacks: 100 calorie almond, apple, orange
Lunch: grilled portobello sandwich (enjoying bread while I can!) + spinach/squash salad

Meal Planning

I think the one of the main ways to maintain a healthy diet is to plan, plan, plan. Generally when I go to the grocery store I have meal plans and recipes in mind. However, the last few weeks I haven’t driven to the grocery store for a proper stock up. Instead I’ve been making “pit-stops” at Whole Foods and Giant on my way home from the pool or work.  I usually find that I can make do with what I have as long as I have vegetables and beans though.

Tonight I’m going to make a big batch of quinoa (passover friendly) and top it with beans and veggies. I’ll make enough to have leftovers for (hopefully) most of the lunches this week.

The rest of my dinners look like this:

Hopefully with all this planning ahead counting points won’t be too hard!  I’ll post the dinner recipe later tonight.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

